A Whole New World

My name is Roz, and I’m a cancer patient.

I guess that’s something I need to get used to saying. I have cancer. I have Hodgkin’s Lymphoma. I haven’t really figured out which one sounds best. Is there a best?

I knew I had Hodgkin’s. I’ve known for months. The hard thing was getting anyone to believe me. When a medical professional tells you you’re OK, you believe them. Why wouldn’t you?

I feel a lot of things at the moment, and the biggest one is angry. I’m angry that no one listened. I’m angry that it took two months from someone eventually listening to diagnosis.

I don’t think it’s really sunk it yet. I know that they’ve told me I have Hodgkin’s. Nodular Sclerosis Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, to be precise. Apparently it’s the most common form of HL (get used to the abbreviations!!), is more common in females, and the average age of diagnosis is 28. How old am I again? Oh right, 28. It just doesn’t really feel like it’s happening to me at the moment.

I’ll go into more detail of what HL is in another post. Right now, I just need to get my thoughts down. What I will say is that HL is the most curable type of cancer and has a really high treatment success rate. If you had to choose a cancer, this is the one to choose.

I could go on to talk about clinical trials, treatment plans and a whole other minefield of stuff, and I more than likely will, but not today.

I can’t always promise to be upbeat. You may come here and find me feeling a bit maudlin sometimes. But I can promise that I am going to do my damnedest to kick the arse out of this and come out stronger!

Don’t go anywhere. I’m gonna need you!!

6 responses to “A Whole New World

Leave a Reply

