Cycle 1, Treatment 1 – DONE!

So today was Cycle 1, Treatment 1. Each cycle consists of 2 treatments, to be had on day 1 and 15. So my next chemo will be on 10th March.

The chemo I have is ABVD. This is 4 drugs: Adriamycin (also known as Doxorubicin), Bleomycin, Vinblastine and Dacarbazine. I have all 4 drugs on each treatment.

When I got there, my nurse for the day came over and inserted a cannula and hooked me up to a drip. First was some saline. Followed by the Vinblastine which was just a small pouch to drip through. After that was the Adriamycin which was what they call a “push” (a syringe) which was given at the same time as saline. The Adriamycin was a lovely red colour (and yes, my wee was red too!). Then was an anti sickness “push” and a steroid “push”. After was the Dacarbazine which is really sensitive to light, so was wrapped in silver foil, and then the drip line, my cannula and the bag were all covered in plastic so the light couldn’t get through, More saline, and then the Bleomycin. The Bleomycin is something that I may drop after 2 cycles, due to the clinical trial I am taking part in. More saline, then home. The whole thing took about 4 hours, though that might be a bit shorter next time as she put the Dacarbazine in really slowly, and then sped it up.

So far, I feel fine. I can’t help but think that this is the calm before the storm. I was sent away with an array of mouth washes, (Corsodyl and Difflam for the medics among us) anti-sickness (Ondansetron and Metoclopramide) tablets and anti-gout tablets (Allopurinol). Depending on how my bloods are next week, I may be given a stimulant injection to build up my white cell count. This is to make sure that they don’t have to postpone any of my treatments due to my white count being too low to cope with it.

My next appointment is on Tuesday to see Fiona, and to have more bloods. Then in again on the following Tuesday for more bloods, then chemo on Wednesday.

Cancer – you picked the wrong girl to mess with!!

5 responses to “Cycle 1, Treatment 1 – DONE!

  • Harryjsmummy

    That’s my girl. Love u always x

  • Cara

    Not bored of it at all, its extremely interesting, as my dad went through similar, tho he never had your attitude or zest to win!! Keep fighting you WILL win!!! x

  • Andie

    ((((HUG)))) My thoughts and prayers are with you! You get a lolly for being so good today! Thank you for being brave and sharing this exeperience with us!
    XO,A

  • Rach

    Well done you 🙂 very very proud of you xxxxxx

  • Colin @365er

    Great to read your blog, and this entry particularly, as it looks like I’m heading down the ABVD route at the end of this month. Will be following your progress and hopefully blogging myself about how things go for me – http://365ersnewchallenge.blogspot.com/ – I’ve been working to kick cancer for a couple of years now, with my 365challenge for Cancer Research UK, and hope I’ll be able to get back on track with that soon. But for now, wishing you all the best in your fight … I’ll be there beside you … take care. Colin

Leave a Reply

