Honey, I’m Home!

I only just got released (yes, it felt like a prison) from hospital today. I’ve been in for a whole week and stayed in three different wards. I started off in the Emergency Admissions Ward, then got moved to ITU, and then onto the Bone Marrow Transplant Unit.

Basically, after I was admitted on Tuesday, I was on oxygen as my levels were really low and still having my obs every 2 hours. In the middle of the night, my blood pressure dropped to 75 something, so they had to give me a drip to get my BP back up. Then when I got up on Wednesday morning, I couldn’t even walk to the end of my bed, which is how I ended up in Intensive Care.

We still don’t know whether it was a bad chest infection or PCP, but the treatment was for PCP, and it seems to have worked. We’re still waiting on blood results. It’s been horrible. I’ve had three lots of antibiotics (one of which was through a drip and two litres a day), plus an anti fungal, and steroids. I managed to get one of the drugs orally because it was making my veins burn and it was too uncomfortable.

I think going into ITU was when I hit my lowest low. I didn’t realise how ill I actually was. It was so horrible being in there, I wouldn’t wish it on anyone. There is absolutely nothing dignified about it.

I know people are speculating as to whether I pushed myself too hard by doing Race for Life, but I don’t think I did. We were practically last to finish, and I’d even spoken to my consultant a few days before about my breathing which is why he agreed to drop the evil Bleomycin, because that was most likely the cause of it.

Chemo is delayed by two weeks, so I am now due to finish on August 11th. Not getting my hopes up though – but lets just see if I can avoid any more hospital stays!!

One response to “Honey, I’m Home!

Leave a Reply

