What Happened Today…..

Thank you all for your lovely Facebook comments about my appointment today. I thought I’d put it all in a blog post rather than try to cram it into a status.

Right, so some of you know the thyroid story, some of you don’t. So here’s a catch up.

When I had my first PET scan, before I started chemo, I had a great big mass of orange showing up on my chest/lung. We asked the consultant if it was just in the one place and she explained that my thyroid had shown a hotspot too. She decided not to do anything about it at that point because there was a chance it was also part of the Hodge.

April was my next scan, and much to everyone’s relief, the big mass of orange on my chest had gone, however, the thyroid was still orange. She then decided to send me for a ultrasound and fine needle biopsy as we were fairly sure this wasn’t Hodge related.

I had the biopsy in June, and eventually my results coame back, however, they were “inconclusive”, so was referrend to an ENT consultant.

Fast forward to today (six months to the day since my diagnosis – wow, that’s gone quick!!) and I’m seen in ENT. The long and the short of it is that they don’t know what it is. I have a lump there, but we don’t know if it’s benign or malignant, although lots of thyroid lumps are benign. However, because it was showing orange on the scan, they don’t want to leave it and therefore they will more than likely remove it. That means another general anaesthetic, another scar and another stay in hospital. They aren’t in any particular hurry (hmmm, I’ve heard that before!) and have said it can wait until I’ve had chance to recover after chemo is over. They are going to discuss it in their MDT meeting and will see me again in two weeks to decide the next step, although surgery will probably be in a few months, which will probably end up being when I go on holiday, in which case I will ask them to rearrange.

I just feel like that I should be coming to the end of something now and that I should be able to move on, but instead of being able to do that, I have to start again with something else. Surely I’ve had my fair share now, isn’t it someone else’s turn yet?

4 responses to “What Happened Today…..

  • Kelly

    Thank you for the update chick, I have (as I am sure have others) been thinking about you all day. Sounds like the team know what they are doing and will do the best thing for you. Hopefully, this will be the very last thing now. You very much deserve a break (and lots of wine 😉

    You are the bravest lady I know – keep your chin up and I will see you in 12 days!

    XXXX

    • rozzibee

      Neil and I shall be making the most of our night off from Jake at the wedding. Staying over as well, so no driving! Did I mention I’ve not drank properly for about 2 years. I’m a cheap date!! xx

  • Kelly

    Lol, you are a cheap date!! Did I mention that we’re having a champagne reception and then our guests will have free red & white wine!!! 🙂 I think you will be quite tipsy by desert!

    Are you staying at the Mal? It’s lush there. Can’t wait to see you.

    XXXX

  • marketingtomilk

    Oh darling what an arse of a thing to happen. Just think of it as your final challenge before a simpler, calmer life. Big hugs. M2m

Leave a Reply

