Maybe I should rename the blog…

So, for those of you who haven’t seen on Facebook and/or Twitter, I got the results back today from my thyroid operation. Neil was poorly, and Jake has had chicken pox, so I got my friend Inder to come with me.

They were running late, as to be expected, but eventually I got called through. I had the obligatory chat on the way to the consultation room: “How are you today, Mrs Barnwell?” “OK, I think, I’m hoping YOU can tell ME.”

We walked into the room and there was my surgeon, his registrar, another professor, a nurse, and a nurse counsellor. When there are that many people in the room, it’s never good news.

Doc: “We’ve only had your results back today”

Me: “Right. And…”

Doc: “It’s positive”

Me: “Meaning?”

Doc: “It’s malignant”

Me: “S**t”

I was only in with him for about two minutes before I was ushered off into another room with my “key worker”. He’s basically the guy I go to with any worries, questions or concerns. I was told that the type of cancer is “Well differentiated papillary thyroid cancer“.

They aren’t worried about it, but I wonder how many of the people in that room had to fight one cancer, let alone two.

In comparison to what I’ve already been through, this will be a walk in the park. I start thyroxine as of tomorrow. I will need another operation to remove the other half of my thyroid gland, and am on the waiting list for this, it will probably be towards the end of January, beginning of February, and then I will probably need radioactive iodine treatment.

My key worker told me that if I hadn’t have had my scan to stage my Hodgkin’s, it may have been another 10 or 20 years before I noticed a lump because it’s so slow growing, and even then the prognosis would still be good.

So, who’d have thunk it? Two completely different and unrelated types of cancer before the age of 30. I suppose, I could think myself lucky to have had two cancers with good prognosis, but honestly, I’d have rather had none at all thanks.

Here’s to kicking it once more!

7 responses to “Maybe I should rename the blog…

  • marketingtomilk

    YOu’re an inspiration, you really are. Fight on.

    M2M

  • Jamie

    You’re amazing.
    And you’ve got a lot of people rooting for you.
    And I’m happy to hear the “prognosis is good” but that’s little comfort, isn’t it, when you get another crappy diagnosis that you don’t deserve. But we all know how tough you are and hope that real soon we’ll be reading about how you kicked this one to the curb to.

  • Ian

    You’re amazing Roz, remember to give me a call when you want to chat about your book x

  • Kirsten

    I’m so sorry! Just when you are getting back to “normal” you get this and find out you have to start with hospital visits and all that stuff again. But you are strong and you will get through it. And I’ll be hear cheering you on from the sidelines.
    Kirsten xxx

  • rageagainstthelymphoma

    oh roz i’m so sorry! how rubbish but great that it is treatable. i take it the treatment isn’t going to be like chemo in its horridness. i’m glad they found it early and know what to do with it. thinking of you.

    you are my hero for having come out the other side of HL too. i am miserable with my chemo and wanting to give up but knowing people like you have done it oo and come out the other side makes me know i can too.

    xxx

  • Emma-Louise

    Roz, so sorry to hear your news, but keep fighting and smiling. I’m sending lots of thoughts and prayers your way. I wish there was more that I could do, but I’m sure that your positive attitude and strong spirit will shine through. I’ll keep stopping by your blog. I’m wishing you all the best xxxx

  • Skinny Girl Lost | Life, Love and Lollipops

    […] December 2010 – Thyroid Cancer diagnosis given […]

Leave a Reply

