Hormones – or Lack Thereof

*Warning – this post is relating to matters of a female nature.

Before I got pregnant (hmmm, funny how a lot of my posts seem to start with those 4 words), my periods came about every 31 days ish. After I had Jake, it took 6 months for me to get them back, I had 3, then I started chemo and they were hit and miss. Chemo finished in August and I had my first one in September. I can’t tell you how pleased I was. I never thought I would be pleased about having a period! But, it meant things were working and going back to normal. Since then, they have come every 28 days.

Until now, where I am 6 days late. No, I am not pregnant. So then, why hasn’t it come? If I was pregnant, it wouldn’t be a bad thing, so I just wish that Mother Nature would stop messing me around and let my body get back to “normal”, whatever that is these days.

After doing some research on the internet, it would seem that thyroid surgery and thyroxine levels can effect the menstrual cycle, so why wasn’t I told this in my consultation? Probably because the consultant couldn’t wait to get me out of there and will never discuss what happens next, only what happens now, which for some people is fine, but for me, it’s not.

It’s my body for crying out loud, shouldn’t I be told if things aren’t going to be working properly? I just feel so throughly fed up at the moment. Hasn’t my body failed me enough over the last year to then fail me on this.

Whinge over 😦

 

3 responses to “Hormones – or Lack Thereof

  • Rachael

    Yes u should have been told but don’t worry “normal” will cone back soon. If there is such a thing!! Xx

  • Susan Mann

    Oh honey, you should be told these things but I’m sure they will get back to normal soon. Hugs x

  • Mummy's Little Monkey (@Jax2000)

    I totally agree with you – it’s your body, and you should be told of everything that can, or might, happen to it! I also think that pregnant women are totally kept in the dark – it’s like they inform you about everything right up to the point of the actual birth, then it’s a complete info blackout! Mind you, if you knew what your poor body goes through afterwards, you might never have kids… x

Leave a Reply

