To Text, or Not To Text?

One thing I love about WordPress, is that you can see what people have been searching for that then led them to your blog. Recently, a lot of people have been finding it by searching for thyroid surgery, and thyroid surgery scars.  Occasionally you get the odd one like “emails from devon a. hodgkin’s”,  “zuzula clinic chatra” or “temperature taken in ass by doctors” which make me giggle. But there was one that stood out to me the other day and that was “what to text someone before they have chemo”.

The first thing that came to mind was that I thought it was a strange thing to search for. But then I thought, actually, it’s actually quite sweet that a person wanted to say something but didn’t know what. They could have just thought it was too hard and not bothered, but you all know my thoughts on this.

I remember the first day I went for chemo. Part of me was terrified, because I didn’t know what would happen, and the knowledge that I knew I was going to feel awful afterwards, but not knowing when that illness would hit me. Would it be during chemo, on the drive home, later that night? But then there was the part of me that felt, I don’t know, excited? Determined? I don’t know what the right word is, but basically I was glad the day had arrived that I would start fighting it.

I had lots of text messages and Facebook comments that day wishing me well. And I treasured every one of them. Not because I wanted the attention, or the sympathy, but because I knew that there were people who had my back and that were fighting it with me.

So, to the person who was wondering what to text someone, here is my advice:

Text anything.

It doesn’t matter what you say. What matters is that you’ve said anything at all. It matters to that person that you care and that you took time out of your day to think about them and to wish them well. It will make them feel that little bit stronger when they walk into the treatment room knowing they have people on their side, fighting their corner.

One response to “To Text, or Not To Text?

  • fenngirl

    Those little messages mean everything. I’ve still got loads of emails and FB messages from chemo time and they are really precious. I felt so supported.

    I would agree – text anything. Just knowing that people are thinking of you makes it that bit easier to face.

    Great post x

Leave a Reply

